Know About Golf Courses

A golf course consists of a series of holes, each consisting of a teeing ground, fairway and rough and a green with a flagstick and cup. A standard round of golf consists of playing 18 holes. Most golf courses have par three, four, and five holes, though some courses include par six holes. Here we look at the key elements comprising a golf course:

Teeing Area

The first section of every hole consists of a teeing ground or tee-box. Every tee-box has two markers showing the bounds of the legal tee area. You can also get more information about gold courses by visiting

Image Source: Google

There is usually more than one box per player to place the ball, with each being a different distance from the hole. They are generally as level as feasible, and most tee areas are slightly raised from the surrounding fairway.

Fairway and Rough

After teeing off, the player has to hit the ball again toward the green. The area between the tee box and the putting green is called the fairway. The turf of the fairway is generally cut short and evenly and is an advantageous area to hit from.

The rough is the area between the fairway and the out-of-bounds markers and also between the fairway and green. The rough has higher cut grass than that of the fairway making it generally a disadvantageous area to hit from.

The quality of fairway and rough grass influences the roll of the ball, as well as the ability of the player to 'take a divot'. Mow heights also influence the play of the course with taller grass making it more difficult for a player to recover from a bad shot.